Rights of Way Committee

The Rights of Way Committee (RoW), initially a subcommittee of the Conservation Commission, became a permanent committee in 1989.  The Committee's efforts enable residents and visitors alike the opportunity to enjoy the beautiful vistas, paths, and meadows throughout the Town by continuing to identify, mark, maintain, and protect access to public property and public rights of way over private property.

The work the Committee has done over the past couple of decades includes many foot paths throughout Rockport. They include:

Atlantic Path
♦ Granite Pier
♦ Back Beach
♦ Front Beach
♦ School House Landing
♦ White Wharf
♦ Middle Wharf
♦ Lumber Wharf
♦ Harbor Walk
♦ Downtown
♦ The Headlands
♦ Old Garden Beach
♦ Old Garden Beach Park
♦ Steep Bank Landing
♦ Old Garden Path
♦ John Kieran Preserve
♦ Flat (Rock) Point
♦ Delamater Sanctuary
♦ Emerson Point
♦ Loblolly Cove
♦ Cogswell Farm Footpath
♦ Pebble Beach
♦ Cape Hedge Beach
♦ Long Beach

Committee members are appointed for three-year terms by the Selectmen.  We are fortunate to be assisted by some associates and volunteers, but we could use more help!

The Committee meets on the fourth (except holiday) Monday of the month at 7:00 PM in Town Hall Conference Room A, and we invite the public to participate in meetings and trail-work activities. Our email address is RoW.Rockport@Gmail.com.

Committee Members

Name Title
Tom Mikus Chair
Monica Lawton Vice Chair
Mary Devaney Member, Secretary
Tom Kerans Member, Past Chair
Philip Morrow Member
Lori Morrow Member
Ann Cahill Member
Mary Jane Sawyer Member
Candace Waldron Member
(Open Position) Member


Name Role
Phyllis Krenn

former chair

former member