MBTA Station Planning Advisory Committee (MSPAC)

The MBTA Station Planning Advisory Committee (MSPAC) was established by the Rockport Board of Selectmen on December 21, 2004. The committee is comprised of the following persons appointed by the Board of Selectmen: Charles H. Clark, Selectman (ex-officio); Carson Berglund; Samuel W. Coulbourn; M.E. Garet Wohl; E. Seymour Smith; Peter C. Webber; and Robert Burbank. George Robertson, assistant director of Rockport's DPW, serves as the DPW liaison to the committee. Our charge from the selectmen is as follows: 

"The MBTA Station Planning Advisory Committee (MSPAC) is charged to provide the Board of Selectmen with recommendations for the development of the MBTA station and the surrounding area. The committee should offer comments on function and design of the station and the integration of the station with the surrounding neighborhood and also work with the Planning Board on potential redesign and reconstruction of the public and private areas surrounding the train station. To accomplish these tasks, the seven member committee shall meet with representatives of the MBTA, their consultants and abutters of the MBTA station on matters relating to design changes, design improvements, public hearings, function of the station and other matters. They should also review and discuss possible grant applications for zoning, planning and development activities." 


Board Members

Name Title
Nicola Barletta Chairman
Ellen Canavan Member
Samuel Coulbourn Member
George Robertson Member
Henry Betts Member