Cultural Council

The Rockport Cultural Council (RCC) is one in the 355-member network of Local Cultural Councils which are funded and managed by the Massachusetts Cultural Council (MCC) to provide state grants and/or programming to promote excellence, access, education and diversity in the arts, humanities, and interpretive sciences in every Massachusetts community.

MCC receives funding from an annual state appropriation; in turn, MCC distributes funds to RCC and other local state councils based on a local aid formula devised by the state.   RCC awards grants to schools, organizations, and individuals in their communities based on that community's cultural needs.

RCC members are appointed by Rockport Selectmen and include from 5-to-22 members each of whom may serve up to two consecutive three-year terms.  Letters of interest should be submitted to the Selectmen's Office for consideration upon a slot becoming open. 

Grant applications are made directly to RCC.

Cultural District 

Since March 21, 2012 The Town of Rockport's downtown area has been designated as a Statewide 'Cultural District' by the Massachusetts Office of Travel and Tourism 'MOTT'. This is exciting news for all who appreciate Arts and Culture in Rockport and Massachusetts. The MOTT Cultural Districts website is: MOTT Cultural Districts

Board Members

Name Title
Jacquelyn Ball Member
Janice Beacham Member
Linda Teahen Member
Marie Alfieri Member
Julie Andrews Member
Shirley Christenson Member