Town Art Committee

During the  20th century, artists started to set down roots on Cape Ann.  The current collection of Town-owned works of art grew in earnest with the formation of the Rockport Art Association in 1921.  The vast majority of works were donated by the artists.  The committee spends time, energy, and passion caring for the Town's bequests; one such example is "Morning Fog" by Anthony Theime that was  once considered lost and later found on the floor of at the water treatment plant.  The Town Art Committee had the work of art cleaned and restored and it now hangs in Town Hall.

Additional information about specific artists of the works may be found at the Rockport Art Association.

The Rockport Cultural District supports the art of contemporary artists.

Mission Statement: 

The Town Art Committee, on behalf of the Rockport Board of Selectman, are stewards responsible for the conservation, exhibition, and acquisition of works of art.  Additionally, the committee may review and comment on proposed temporary installations for Town-owned property.  

Rockport Cultural District mobile app available free through the Cape Ann Cultural Districts or follow on Facebook

  1. Karen Sena-Berger


  1. Dorothy Marshall


  1. Bryan McMullin


  1. Rosemary Pillarella