Rights of Way Committee


  • 7:00 pm on the 3rd Wednesday of every month
  • Conference Room A
    Town Hall (lower level)
    34 Broadway Avenue
    Rockport, MA 01966


Name Role Term
Monica Lawton Chair 2026
Nathan Ives Vice Chair 2025
Rebecca Paradis Secretary 2026
Tom Mikus Member 2024
John Cunningham Member 2024
Theresa Risolo Member 2026
Brian Claydon Member 2025
Barbara Gavin Member 2025
Tom Flaherty Member 2024
Lori Morrow Advisor  
Mary Jane Sawyer Advisor  
Mary Devaney Advisor  
Paul F. Murphy Selectmen Liaison annual


The Rights-of-Way Committee (RoW), initially a subcommittee of the Conservation Commission, became a permanent committee in 1989. The Committee's efforts enable residents and visitors alike the opportunity to enjoy the beautiful vistas, paths, and meadows throughout the Town by continuing to identify, mark, maintain, and protect access to public property and public rights-of-way over private property.

The work the Committee has done over the past several decades includes many footpaths throughout Rockport. They include:

  • Map of CoastAtlantic Path
  • Back Beach
  • Cape Hedge Beach
  • Cogswell Farm Footpath
  • Delamater Sanctuary
  • Downtown
  • Emerson Point
  • Flat (Rock) Point
  • Front Beach
  • Granite Pier
  • Harbor Walk
  • The Headlands
  • John Kieran Preserve
  • Loblolly Cove
  • Long Beach
  • Lumber Wharf
  • Middle Wharf
  • Old Garden Beach
  • Old Garden Beach Park
  • Old Garden Path
  • Pebble Beach
  • School House Landing
  • Steep Bank Landing
  • White Wharf