Zoning Board of Appeals

The Zoning Board of Appeals has authority pursuant to The Zoning Act (Chapter 40A of the Massachusetts General Laws) to grant variances from the Rockport Zoning Bylaw, special permits, and special-use permits under the Bylaw and to consider appeals from orders of the Building Inspector. 

Decisions are reached by applying to the facts of each case the legal principles and standards set forth in the legislation involved which in most cases is the Rockport Zoning Bylaw and The Zoning Act. In interpreting the pertinent statutes and bylaws, the Board follows its own prior decisions as well as relevant court precedent. 

The Zoning Board of Appeals normally holds public hearings on the last Wednesday of each month and public meetings after those hearings; other public hearings and/or public meetings are held when required to handle pending business. Five members of the Board sit on each case; to grant relief requires the concurring votes of four members. An associate member takes the place of any regular member who is unable to act due to absence, conflict of interest, or any other reason.

For questions or to contact the Zoning Board of Appeals, email Helen Barnett or call 978-546-5000, extension 40280.

Board Members

Name Title
Charles W. Christopher Chair, Member
Alan Battistelli Vice Chair, Zoning Administrator, Member
Tacy D. San Antonio Clerk, Member
Peter Bergholtz Member
Michael Bace Member
Lars-Erik Wiberg Associate Member
John N. Rees Zoning Administrator, Associate Member
Frederick Frithsen Associate Member
Debra Dellacona Associate Member