The Massachusetts Anti-ldling Law

Massachusetts General Law (MGL), Chapter 90, Section 16A,
310 Code of Massachusetts Regulation (CMR), Section 7.11 and
MGL, Chapter 111, Sections 142A — 142M

The Statute, MGL, Chapter 90, 16A says:
“No person shall cause, suffer, allow, or permit the unnecessary operation of the engine
of a motor vehicle while said vehicle is stopped for a foreseeable period of time in
excess of five minutes. This section shall not apply to:
* Vehicles being serviced, provided that operation of the engine is essential to the
proper repair thereof, or ¢« Vehicles engaged in the delivery or acceptance of
goods, wares, or merchandise for which engine assisted power is necessary and
substitute alternate means cannot be made available or,
* Vehicles engaged in an operation for which the engine power is necessary for
an associated power need other than movement and substitute alternate power
means cannot be made available provided that such operation does not cause or
contribute to a condition of air pollution.”

The Regulation, 310 CMR 7.11, tracks this language.
Note: the regulation applies to all motor vehicles.

Penalties

* Penalties can range from $100(MGL Chapter 90, Section 16A) to as much as $25,000
(MGL Chapter 111, Section 142A);

* Drivers and/or companies can be held responsible for paying the fine;

* Local police have the authority to enforce the law, as do health officials or other
officials who hold enforcement authority.

The goal of the Massachusetts Anti-ldling law is to improve air quality by
reducing unnecessary air pollution from idling vehicles. The law limits
unnecessary engine idling to five minutes. Drivers sometime wonder when idling
might be considered necessary. The following questions and answers are intended to
help drivers determine when engine idling could be considered necessary and when
they should shut the engines down.

Why is there an anti-idling law?
It's basic common sense: there is already too much pollution in the air. Massachusetts
consistently has days when air pollution exceeds ozone standards.

Is all engine idling prohibited?
No. While the law does prohibit unnecessary idling, it also recognizes that there are
times when idling is simply unavoidable and lists three specific exemptions: when an



engine is being repaired and operating the engine is necessary for the repair; when a
vehicle is making deliveries and associated power is necessary; and when the engine is
used to provide power to another device.

What are some examples of how the exemptions work?

The two more common situations facing most drivers are the exemptions allowed for

making deliveries and to run a device that does not have its own power. Common sense

will help drivers determine whether engine idling is necessary or not.
* Deliveries: School buses that must run their engines to operate flashing lights
while picking up or dropping off passengers are a good example of necessary
idling. State law requires the operation of flashing lights while loading and
unloading children at school or on regular school bus routes. With no other power
source to operate the lights other than running the engine, idling the engine is
necessary.
 Additional devices, or auxiliary power units: Refrigerator units on trucks with
perishable goods or vehicles operating special equipment, such as a lift on the
back of a truck to move goods in and out of the truck or wheelchair lifts in buses
or vans that may require engine power to operate are common examples of
equipment that are operated with the engine power. Another example might
include “bucket” trucks that allow a worker to reach wires on telephone poles or
tree branches for trimming.

Are there other times when it’s OK to idle not listed in the law?
The law prohibits unnecessary idling, then lists three exemptions to that rule. So there
are other times when idling is permitted as long as the idling is absolutely necessary.

For example, running the engine to operate the windshield defroster to clear a
windshield of ice on an extremely cold day is a good example of necessary idling. It's a
safety problem if you cannot see where you're going and if the windshield is not warm
enough to melt snow and freezing rain while driving. Running the engine while actively
clearing snow and ice off the vehicle and to warm the windshield and interior of the
vehicle is necessary idling.

Our common sense also tells us that heaters and air conditioning units almost always
bring the vehicle’s interior into a comfortable range in a short time. We also know that
heaters and air conditioning units work faster when the vehicle is being driven, not when
it is left idling. So most vehicles, most of the time, will reach a comfortable temperature
within the first five minutes of driving. Some heavy vehicles, such as buses or trucks,
may need some additional time to bring interior temperatures into a comfortable range.

What are a few examples of unnecessary idling?
* Sitting in your car in a parking lot with the engine on during mild or cool weather
is unnecessary. The interior of your car will stay warm for 5 to 10 minutes on all
but the coldest days.
* Leaving the vehicle running while unattended to let the heater warm it or the air
conditioner cool it for extended periods of time is unnecessary idling (it is also in



violation of motor vehicle law). Five minutes should be the maximum amount of
time unless weather conditions are extreme, and the engine should not be left
running while the vehicle is unattended for any length of time.

» Operating devices not related to transporting passengers or goods. Letting the
engine run for an hour or more to play a movie or to charge a cell phone causes
unnecessary pollution, is a nuisance for others nearby and puts excessive wear
and tear on the engine.

Am | causing more pollution by stopping and starting the engine?

No. Once the engine has warmed up, an idling engine causes more pollution by running
than by stopping and starting up again. Studies indicate that the trade-off for light- and
medium-duty gasoline powered vehicles is about 10 seconds (i.e. the vehicle will
produce more pollution idling longer than 10 seconds than it will by shutting down and
restarting the engine). The time trade-off on medium- and heavy-duty diesel engines is
about 30 seconds.

Won't | wear out my starter if | keep stopping and starting the engine?

Fleet managers of companies with strict anti-idling policies report that they do not
replace starters in their vehicles more frequently than vehicles that are left running for
extended periods. In fact, more damage occurs to engines that are left idling over long
periods of time.

Who would | complain to if | see a vehicle idling unnecessarily?

The best place to start is your local Board of Health. Other possibilities include local
police, DEP or the EPA. Enforcement personnel cannot respond to every complaint
about idling vehicles, and there are instances when it is not obvious why a vehicle
needs to idle longer than five minutes.

But many of the complaints about excessive idling are about the same vehicles in the
same locations routinely left idling, many times out of habit. For people living or working
near those vehicles the exhaust that they are subjected to is not just a nuisance, it's a
real health problem.

Where would | find copies of the law and regulation?

The law is Massachusetts General Law (MGL) Chapter 90, Section 16A and the
regulation is 310 Code of Massachusetts Regulation (CMR) 7.11. The wording is the
same for both the law and the regulation. Enforcement authority and fine structures
differ somewhat between the law and the regulation.

Do the Anti-idling law and regulation apply to all vehicles?

The law and regulation apply to all motor vehicles. All motor vehicles contribute to air
pollution and can create a nuisance if the exhaust is affecting others. Why should
people be allowed to pollute the air unnecessarily?

Source: Massachusetts Department of Environmental Protection, 2007 Idling Reduction
Toolkit.



