MOTOR VEHICLE AND TRAILER EXCISE

Under Massachusetts General Laws, Chapter 60A, an excise shall be assessed
on every motor vehicle and trailer registered during the calendar year.

v

THE EXCISE

The excise is imposed on the privilege of registering a motor vehicle and is not a property tax. It therefore applies
to anyone who registers a motor vehicle in Massachusetts.

Each vehicle is taxed from the first day of the month in which it is registered for the balance of the year.

The proceeds become a part of the general funds of the municipality and have the effect of reducing the property
tax.

The rate of $25.00 per thousand which shall be effective for calendar year 1981 excises and thereafter is uniform
throughout the Commonwealth. No excise shall be for less than $5.00 for 1985 and thereafter.

Non-payment will result in additional charges and will lead to non-renewal of the vehicle’s registration and of the
taxpayer’s license. For 1985 and thereafter payment is due in 30 days from date of bill.

THE VALUE

The value of a motor vehicle for .excise purposes is determined by the Commissioner of Revenue at varying per-
centages of the manufacturer’s list price in the year of manufacture as follows:

In the year preceding the designated year of manufacture 50%
In the year of manufacture 90%
In the second year 60%
In the third year . 40%
In the fourth year 25%
In the fifth and succeeding years 10%

Condition and market value are not considerations in determining the value, nor is age after the fifth year.

ASSESSMENT

An excise is assessed on a motor vehicle or trailer by the assessors of the municipality in which the vehicle is custom-
arily garaged. The excise is based on information furnished on the application for registration. Any correction of
name, model, registration number, make or year of manufacture must be recorded with the Registry of Motor Vehicles.

ABATEMENTS
An abatement is in order in the following cases:
1) When the motor vehicle is sold and the registration is cancelled or when the vehicle is traded for another vehicle.
2) When a registrant and motor vehicle are transferred to another state or country with proof of registration in such
other state or country and proof of cancellation of registration in Massachusetts.
3) When a motor vehicle is overvalued.
4) When there is subsequent registration of the same vehicle in the same year by the same person.
5) When vehicle is stolen and notification of theft within 48 hours is given to police and certificate of registration sur-
rendered not less than thirty (30) days after the theft and certificate from Registry verifying same.
A proportionate abatement of the excise may be granted if any of the above conditions is met and the application is
properly filed.
Forms for applying for abatement will be mailed on request from the assessors’ office.
Application for abatement or refund must be filed with the Board of Assessors in writing on an approved form on
or before December 31 of the year following the year for which the excise is assessed.
PENALTIES
The excise is due and payable within 30 days of the date of issue. If not paid when due, it is subject to penalties of
interest, demand, charges and fees.
A motor vehicle and trailer excise remaining unpaid after the due date must be reported by the Collector of the
municipality to the Registrar of Motor Vehicles for marking of registration and license for non-renewal.
Registration can also be marked for non-renewal for unpaid excises of the previous year.
If a registration is marked for non-renewal a filing fee of $20.00 together with payment of delinquent excises is
required to restore it.

FOR FURTHER INFORMATION
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NAME OF CITY OR TOWN Application No.
Calendar Year 20____
MOTOR VEHICLE EXCISE ABATEMENT APPLICATION
General Laws Chapter 60A

Return to: Board of Assessors
Must be filed with assessors by December 31 of

the calendar year following the excise year (or 30
days after the bill is issued if that date is later)

- | |

INSTRUCTIONS: Complete BOTH sides of application. Please print or type.

A. TAXPAYER INFORMATION.
Name(s) (as shown on bill) . Telephone No. ( )
Address (as shown on bill)
’ . No. Street City/Town Zip Code
Mailing Address (if different)
No. Street City/Town ' Zip Code

B. BILL INFORMATION. Complete using information as it appears on tax bill.

Tax Year ' Plate / Registration Number
Issue Date Date of Registration
Bill Number Vehicle Year
Vehicle Identification Number - Model
C. SIGNATURE. «
Subscribed under the penalties of perjury
Signature of Applicant » Date ‘

YOU MUST ALSO COMPLETE SECTION D ON REVERSE SIDE

DISPOSITION OF APPLICATION (ASSESSORS’ USE ONLY)

Calendar Year Assessed Excise $— _ Board of Assessors
Bill Number Abatement $
Valuation Adjusted Excise $
Months Assessed
Date

Certificate Number — !

FILING THIS APPLICATION DOES NOT STAY THE COLLECTION OF YOUR EXCISE.
TO AVOID INTEREST, CHARGES AND COLLECTION ACTION, YOU MUST PAY EXCISE AS BILLED BY THE DUE DATE.
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D. REASON(S) ABATEMENT SOUGHT. Check reason(s) you are applying and provide the specified documentation.

[ Vehicle Sold or Traded Bill of Sale and plate return receipt from Registry of Motor Vehicles (RMV) or new registration
form if plate transferred to another vehicle.

[0 Vehicle Stolen or Total Loss Police report or insurance settlement letter and plate return receipt, C-19 Form
(Affidavit of Lost or Stolen Plate from RMV) or new registration form.

[J Vehicle Repossessed Notice from lienholder and plate return receipt, C-19 Form or new registration form.

[0 Vehicle Junked Receipt from junk yard and plate return receipt, C-19 Form or new registration form.

[0 Vehicle Returned (Lemon Law) Letter from dealer certifying return and plate return receipt or new registration form.

[0 Moved from billing city/town Date of move: / /

before January 1, of tax year Proof of residency before January 1, of tax year of bill (e.g., utility bill, voter registration, lease)
’ and proof RMV was notified before January 1, of address change for registration.

NOTE: You are entitled to an abatement if you moved to another Massachusetts city or town during
the same calendar year of the excise tax. You must notify the RMV within 30 days of mov-
ing and before January 1, to be billed by your new city or town next year.

(0 Moved from Massachusetts Date of move: [ [
Registration from new state or country
_ [0 Exemption Type: ’ Documentation establishing qualifications.
O Other Explain; Relevant documentation.

INFORMATION ABOUT YOUR MOTOR VEHICLE EXCISE

MOTOR VEHICLE EXCISE: You must pay an excise tax for any calendar year you own and register a motor vehicle in Massachusetts. The excise is assessed as of
January 1, or the first day of the month the vehicle is registered if registered after January 1. Bills are issued by the city or town where you reside or have your prin-
cipal place of business based on Registry of Motor Vehicle registration records as of that assessment date. The excise valuation is a percentage of the manufacturer’s
recommended list price of the vehicle when new (not the sales price or current market value). The percentages are: 50% for the calendar year before the model year,
90% for the model year, 60% for the second year, 40% for the third year, 25% for the fourth year, and 10% for the fifth and following years. Excises for vehicles reg-
istered after January 1, are pro-rated from the first day of the month the vehicle is registered until December 31.

ABATEMENTS. You may be entitled to an abatement (or a refund if the excise has been paid) if the vehicle is valued at more than the percentage. of manufacturer’s
list price that applies for the calendar year. Abatements may also be granted if you (1) transfer ownership of the vehicle, (2) move out of Massachusetts, (3) re-regis-
ter the vehicle, or (4) report the theft of the vehlc]e, during the calendar year. Abatements for those reasons may also reqmre you to cancel or transfer the registration,
report the plate lost or stolen, or take other action in that year. You are not entitled to an abatement if you (1) cancel your registration and retain ownership of the vehi-
cle, or (2) move to another Massachusetts city or town, during the calendar year. Abatements are pro-rated from the first day of the month after the last eligibility
requirement takes place until December 31. No excise may be reduced to less than $5.00. No abatement or refund of less than $5.00 may be made.

DEADLINE. Your abatement apphcatxon must be filed with the Board of Assessors on or before December 31, of the calendar year following the excise year (or 30
days after the bill is issued if that date is later). This deadline cannot be extended or waived by the assessors for any reason. If your application is not tlmely filed, you
lose all rights to an abatement and the assessors cannot by law grant you one. An application is filed when received by the assessors.

PAYMENT. Filing an application does not stay the collection of your excise. Failure to pay the excise when due may subject you to interest, charges and collection
action, including non-renewal of your registration and driver’s license. To avoid any collection charges or actlon you must pay the excise in full within 30 days of the
bill’s issue date. You will receive a refund if an abatement is granted.

DISPOSITION. The assessors have 3 months from the application filing date to act unless you agree in writing to their request to extend the action period for a spe-
cific time. If the assessors do not act on your application within the original or extended period, it is deemed denied. You will be notified in writing if an abatement
has been granted or denied.

CONTACT THE ASSESSORS’ OFFICE IF YOU HAVE ANY QUESTIONS ABOUT YOUR EXCISE BILL OR ABATEMENT RIGHTS.



